Tips from the EHR – New preference: Hiding the clinical toolbar


As you’ve seen occasionally here on our blog, we like to highlight some features from Allscripts EnterpriseTM EHR. We’ve focused this approach so far on several versions with 11.2.  I found a new little feature in some release notes that users may find appealing.

In version 11.2.2, a new .Net General preference was added that allows users to hide the floating clinical toolbar upon login.  The preference is called “HideClinicalToolbarUponLogin”. This is geared towards users that log in and land directly at the Daily Schedule, or other “framework” workspaces like the Task List.

Allscripts initially delivers this preference with a default value of “N”. A value of “N” prompts the system to display the floating clinical toolbar upon logging into the system. System administrators can set this preference so that users can override and opt for the setting of their choice, Y or N. Allowing users to override gives them the opportunity to select their value for this preference using the Personalize feature.

Prior to this preference, users would always be prompted with the floating clinical toolbar on the Daily Schedule, for example.  The toolbar would need to be manually closed either by the X on the upper right hand window of the toolbar or by going to Tools -> Show/Hide Clinical Toolbar (shown below) after logging into each session.

Now, system administrators can spare users that extra click and prevent the users from seeing the floating toolbar. This might be beneficial for front desk users who need to land directly on a Daily Schedule but do not need the floating toolbar to perform their duties. In addition, if users have restricted security and the icons on the clinical toolbar are disabled, it makes sense to set this preference for those users to “Y” and hide the toolbar anyway.

In addition to setting the preference in TWAdmin -> General, system administrators can utilize the SSMT v2.2 content category “TW .NET Preferences” to load the settings for multiple users at one time, for convenience and efficiency.

In my example below, I’ve kept the default value of N at the Enterprise level and allowed users the ability to override, but set the user twfrontdesk to hide the clinical toolbar upon logging into the EHR.

While it’s a small addition, this preference is a nice welcome feature to allow some added convenience and efficiency.

As always, please contact us at Galen if you need any assistance building your system or training. We offer a wide variety of services and solutions to supplement the Enterprise EHRTM application.

Facebook Twitter Email

+ There are no comments

Add yours

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.